Bookish Ramblings: Easter Book Tag

Happy Easter to all those who celebrate! I admit that for us it’s more about spring time, chocolate eggs, and family time over a long bank holiday weekend. This weekend we have enjoyed a Bluebell walk in nearby ancient woodland, celebrated a family members 70th Birthday, and I’m about to set up an egg hunt in the garden! So with that in mind, today is a book tag post. I enjoy book tag posts, they are a fun way to blog on a busy day like today! This is the Easter book tag, which I found via Book Hooked Nook.

Rabbits – A book you wish you could multiply

The Wicked Deep by Shea Ernshaw was a brilliant read, It was a pretty short book and I read it in one sitting. The creepiness of Swan Season and the mythology around the setting was amazing. I totally get why it can only be a stand alone but I would love to know more about the sisters and maybe earlier Swan Seasons.

Egg – A book that surprised you

Grace and Fury is a book that I had low expectations for, not because of any fault of the book but because I received it in a Fairyloot box. I fell out of love with Fairyloot last year and I had come to the conclusion that the curators and I simply had very different tastes in books. However Grace and Fury was outstanding, full of great characters and plot twists – it had it’s fair share of tropes but they were done so well. So this surprised me insofar as it was a Fairyloot book I actually loved!

Hunt – A book that was hard to get your hands on

I feel like I’m tempting fate with this one a little as I don’t yet have it in my hands, but a signed copy of Aurora Rising was one tough cookie to get. Having spent hours across 2 days trying and failing to get the Goldsboro edition in what Jay Kristoff describes as “The Great Breaking” I was really happy when Illumicrate announced they would be featuring an exclusive edition in their May box. Whilst I similarly had to spend a large amount of time negotiating a crashing website, I finally got a subscription after an hour of trying, now I just have to hope that it renews on the 1st May like it’s meant to!

Lambs – A children’s book that you still enjoy

There are still so many children’s books that I still enjoy and if you are a regular reader of this blog you would have seen my #sixforsunday post last week where I discussed books from my childhood. You can find that post here!

Spring – A book with a cover that makes you think of Spring

Not an obvious answer for this one, but not for the first time today I’m choosing Queen Maas for my prompt. ACOTAR is not a spring cover as such but given how much of the story takes place in the Spring Court of Prythian – it’s the only book that comes to mind.

Jesus – A religious of spiritual book that you love

The Emperor’s Harvest by R.A Denny was read by me in it’s previous incarnation as the Mud, Rocks and Trees series. Spirituality and religion play a large part, as the concept of a singular god over the multiple gods of the Romanesqe setting is key. However as I was reading, it never felt as if this aspect was preachy. It was a great fantasy series and I wish the author a ton of success with her re-launch!

Rising from the Dead – A book by a deceased author

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo remains one of my favourite books of all time, there is one particular section that I always need to skip though. Far superior to any adaptation and in fact to its counterparts in the trilogy, it is thriller writing at it’s best in my view. Because of my muggle job I try to avoid things to do with crime investigation, but this cold case style made it a very difficult book for me to put down.

Baskets – A book that is in your Amazon cart or wishlist right now

Illuminae is forever in every basket on every book outlet I buy from. I don’t know what is holding me back because everyone I know and especially those who know my reading style says I will love it. I think it comes down to the editions. In the UK the preference by publishers is mainly paperback. I do prefer my books in a hardback variety and then there are different types of hard covers and hidden covers so I just don’t know where to start! I will probably just end up getting the paperbacks from Waterstones one day, but for now I have to carry on powering through my current tbr!

Candy – A book that is sweet

This is going to be divisive but I actually really loved a Court of Frost and Starlight. Mid air sex aside (I mean not even I can get past that scene) I actually found the preparations for Feyre’s birthday to be lovely. Yes there are poignant and heartfelt sections of the story, but Illyrian warrior snowball fights were incredibly sweet in my view.

So that’s my Easter book tag! Have a wonderful day no matter how you celebrate and feel free to play along 🙂

Leave a comment