Bookish Ramblings: Five things Friday

Weekly wrap up time!

New to my Queue

I’m so so excited, my pre-order of Song of Sorrow by Melinda Salisbury arrived early!!! This book is beautiful and whilst I am still a little disappointed that it was only a paperback release, the stencilled sprayed edges are an absolute joy.  I’ve heard nothing but good things about this so far – I get the feeling a February book may get knocked off my tbr for this one!

My Favourite Book(s) this week

I’ve just finished up Betrayal which is book 5 in the Love Lies and Hocus Pocus series by Lydia Sherrer. I’ve had an interesting journey with this book as I was honoured to be asked to Alpha read in the early stages, I love how the story has evolved since then! It’s another 5 star read for me, the author took a real risk in changing a few things up in this instalment and it paid off in spades!

When I wasn’t reading

Little Miss Playground and I had an epic journey to London on Monday. We headed to the Waterstone’s in Piccadilly (which I believe is the largest book shop in Europe) to meet Cressida Cowell, author of the How to Train your Dragon series. She was fantastic, she gave an hour long inspirational talk about fostering creativity and imagination, we also picked up a signed book too! After walking around in circles for a while we eventually found the Forbidden Planet Megastore and oh my goodness their book floor is the stuff that dreams are made of for any fan of fantasy and sci-fi – I honestly didn’t know where to start, I think I would head back to London just to spend a day (and a small fortune no doubt) down there. Also Geeky Clean released their Crown and Crows, Grishaverse inspired collection this week – it all looks amazing, totally head over there and check it out and remember to use my code Postapoca10 for a discount!

Pic of the Week

I have often said on here that there is something a little special about when an author comments on a pic I’ve posted on Instagram. Having received my copy of Song of Sorrow I just had to post a pic, and I was so excited when Melinda Salisbury commented. I had been holding out to see if Fairyloot could work some magic to get another hardback edition but they have been silent since it was first mooted, so after a very small twitter chat with the author, I pre-ordered this Waterstones exclusive edition and I’m so happy I did. It is a shame that the editions don’t match and I know I’m not the only one who feels this way – I hope that Fairyloot takes on board all the comments from subscribers when turning a paperback release into hardback for their boxes in future.

Looking Ahead

I’m behind on my reading and really need to get a lot of blog and social media maintenance done. Being a working parent with a child who doesn’t sleep has really hit me hard at the moment and I can’t find motivation or inspiration a lot of the time. Honestly my MH is at a bit of a low which means my anxiety is in overdrive and I’m replaying a lot of things in my mind. I’m hoping that once I’ve caught up on some sleep things will be feeling a lot brighter! I’m looking to change a few things on Instagram to make me seem more of a person (I don’t think having my logo as my profile is helpful) and I’m also going to be updating some of the blog pages with a view to getting some more engagement – please let me know if there is anything that you would like to see more/less of 🙂

Take care everyone until my next weekly instalment!

Leave a comment